top of page

533 Governor Nicholls

2026

paint, paper, beeswax on wood panel

33.5 x 33.5 x 2

framed in poplar

series: Lagnaippe

Constructed around 1846, 533 Governor Nicholls is a wonderful example of the small brick homes that were once a common part of everyday life in New Orleans’ French Quarter. The street was originally known as Rue de l’Hospital, named for the nearby military hospital and barracks, before being renamed Governor Nicholls Street in 1909 for former Louisiana Governor Francis T. Nicholls. The house itself is remarkably small, just one room wide and one room deep, but that simplicity is part of what makes it special. It’s a little piece of old New Orleans that has managed to survive while the city around it has changed for nearly two centuries.

 ©  Douglas Galloway Studio

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page